Lake Mburo National Park.

Lake Mburo is only 370square km and is the smallest of Uganda’s savannah national Parks located in Kiruhura district in Western Uganda. Its mosaic habitat, dry hillside, bushes, thickets, open and wooded savannahs, forests lakes and swamps are home to numerous of wildlife.

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park.

Bwindi is 331 square kilometers and is located in South Western Uganda, on the edge of the western rift valley, shared by Kabale, Rukungiri and Kisoro Districts. It lies on an altitude range of 2607m (Rwamunyonyi peak)-1160m (Ishasha gorge).

Queen Elizabeth National Park.

It stretches from the crater-dotted foothills of the Rwenzori range in the north, along the shores of Lake Edward to the remote Ishasha River in the south. The park has 611 recorded bird species in the Kazinga channel sanctuary which covers an area approximately 207km. QENP also has 95-recorded species of mammals which include Lion, Buffalo, Elephant, Hippo’s and many more.

Murchison Falls National Park.

Murchison Falls NP is located in the western part of Uganda covering 3,480 sq km and is the largest national park of Uganda. Murchison Falls Conservation Area (MFCA) encompasses of Murchison Falls National Park, Bugungu and Karuma Falls Wildlife reserves.

Kibaale Forest National Park.

KFNP is located in Western Uganda and the forest is 775Kms, 45% tropical woodland, 40% grassland, 15% swamp vegetation. The most common trees are the Wild Rubber trees, Polita Figs which support fauna and flora.It’s an outstanding forest for bird watching with over 275 bird species including Wood Picker, Africa Grain Hepista Red-chested Flufftail, White-naped Pigeon, Green-brested Pitta, African Pitta, Joyful Greenbul and others.

Mgahinga Gorilla National Park.

Mgahinga is located in South Western corner Uganda, bordering Republic of Rwanda and Democratic republic of Congo, 10km south of Kisoro. Each of these countries protects its own portion of the Virungas, in the Parc National des Volcans and Parc National des Virunga respectively.

Rwenzori Mountains National Park.

Rwenzori Mountains National Park also known as “Mountains of the moon” is located in South Western Uganda on the edge of western rift valley shared by Kabale, Rukingiri and Kisoro Districts. It is 996 Km-sq with an elevation of 1700m to 5109m on top of Margherita peak on Mountain Stanley. It is accessible from Kasese. Rwenzori Mountains national park is a World Heritage Site since 1994.

Semiliki National Park.

Semliki National park is located in Bundibugyo District, and covers 220 km sq. Its altitude range is 670m-760m above sea level. Semuliki National Park is an extension of the vast Ituri forest and forms part of the forest continuum situated in the extreme west of Uganda, along the Uganda/Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) border in the western arm of the East African Rift Valley.

Kidepo Valley National Park

Kidepo Valley found in Northeast Uganda bordering Kenya and Sudan covering 1442 sq km. Kidepo is referred to as Uganda’s most remote national park. It has magnificent scenery featuring Savannah and mountain landscape and it lies in a rugged, semi-arid valley of Karamoja region. For any birder Kidepo has over 475 species including East Africa’s rarest and most sought after birds such as Black-breasted Barbet and Karamoja Apallis.

Mountain Elgon

Mount Elgon is on the Uganda – Kenya border, it is an extinct volcanic mountain standing at 4,321 meters above sea level. And with a 3840 km2 has the mountain the largest volcanic base in the world. The park was gazette in 1993. Mount Elgon is perfect for mountain climbers, nature lovers, hikers and birders. But the park has more to offer. Mount Elgon has amazing caves left by moving lava and erosion of soft volcanic deposits and a natural pool named after the early explorer Jackson.